2013 All-Star Game Press Release
Date: 07-03-2013 Author: MO8MANCOACHES

The Missouri 8-Man Football Coaches Association will be hosting its fifth annual Missouri 8-Man Football Senior All Star Game on Saturday, July 13, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. at Patterson Field on William Jewell’s campus in Liberty Missouri.

41 of Missouri’s top 8-Man senior football players have been invited to participate in this event. They will report Thursday, July 11th to William Jewell College and practice for three days as a member of either the Blue or Red team in preparation for the event.

The teams will be coached by 8-Man football coaches from the eight teams that made the state playoffs in 2012. Coach Jonathan Schoonover of North Andrew is the head coach of the Red Team. He is assisted by Tyler Anderson of Southwest Ludlow, Kirk Thacker of Hardin-Central, and Ross Hastert of Rock Port. The Blue Team is led by Coach Dan Collins of Stanberry, and his assistants are Chuck Borey of Worth County, Brian Messer of Mound City, and Mark Juhl of St. Joseph Christian. The players were drafted by the coaches; thereby pitting previous teammates against one another in certain instances.

“This game is fun for everyone involved. There is a lot of great talent on the field, and that makes it a pleasure to coach,” said Dan Collins, head coach of the Blue All-Stars. “We have a lot of activities planned for the kids besides just football practice, and many new friendships are forged during the short time we are together. The games are usually highly competitive, but the atmosphere on the field is generally good-natured among the players and coaches. The sportsmanship is truly outstanding. An offensive and defensive MVP is selected by certain members of the media. Additionally, two players will receive a scholarship from the 8-Man Football Coaches Association. Everyone has a great time, and we encourage anyone who is a fan of football to attend.”

Admission is $7.00 per person. Gates open up at 5:00 p.m. T-shirts and DVDs of the game will be for sale throughout the contest. All proceeds go to the Missouri 8-Man Football Coaches Association. For more information and to purchase a highlight DVD, please check the home page.

2013 Teams

Red All-Star Team
Head Coach: Jonathan Schoonover
Asst. Coach: Tyler Anderson
Asst. Coach: Kirk Thacker
Asst. Coach: Ross Hastert
Colter Armstrong - Chilhowee
Josiah Carr - Chilhowee
Isaiah King – Cornerstone Joplin
Hunter Crockett – DeKalb
Colton Layman – Hardin-Central
Cole Leakey – Hardin-Central
Hayston Wilson – Mound City
James Walker – Mound City
Brett Johnson – Mound City
Kase Newcomb – Mound City
Zachary Officer – North Andrew
Tucker Null – North Nodaway
Derek Montgomery – Southwest
Mason Mehrhoff – Southwest
John Anderson – Southwest
Spencer Osborn – Stanberry
Jesse Oldham – Stanberry
Justin Mays – St. Joseph Christian
Nic Schebaum – Tarkio
Kevin Stoll – Worth County

Blue All-Star Team
Head Coach: Dan Collins
Asst. Coach: Chuck Borey
Asst. Coach: Mark Juhl
Asst. Coach: Brian Messer
Cody Collier – Cornerstone Joplin
Seth Gore – DeKalb
Hank Bowers – Hardin-Central
Jacob Uribe – Norborne
Colby Atkins – North Andrew
Jeremiah Libich – North Andrew
Trent Coleman – North Nodaway
Dustin Stevens – North Nodaway
Clay Oswald – Rock Port
Mitchell Minter – Rock Port
Trevor Johnson – Stanberry
Jake Heddinger – Stanberry
Corey Comer - Stanberry
Reid Osborn – Stanberry
David Beard – St. Joseph Christian
Jake Fjeldman – St. Joseph Christian
Jake Mitchell – Union Star
Tyler Schmitz – Worth County
Ethan Schmitz – Worth County
Aaron Patton – Worth County
Dallas Greenland – Worth County






Home | News | Teams | Scores/Schedules | Statistics | History | Awards | All-Star Game | Coaches

Contact Missouri 8-Man Football Coaches Association